Oakland County, Michigan®      County Home | Info A-Z | Departments | Jobs | Online Services  
Parks and Trails
Things to Do
Rec Programs
For Everyone
Conservation
Explore the Area
Media

Share thisEmailPrinter Friendly Version
Adopt a Natural Area

The "Adopt-A-Natural Area" Volunteer Program was initiated by the Oakland County Parks and Recreation Natural Resource Stewardship Program in 2011.  Enrolled volunteers are provided with background and training to assist natural resources management staff in stewarding key high-quality natural communities throughout the park system’s 6800 acres. Volunteers are invited to steward a unique natural area through all four seasons at a park of their choice during their year-long commitment. Volunteer stewardship efforts include pre and post prescribed burn surveys, invasive species mapping and management, and wildlife surveys.

      Adopt-a-Natural Area: Training Guide
The Adopt-A-Natural Area Training Guide provides an overview of field survey and natural area management methodologies that volunteers engage in throughout the field season. Materials are presented in a formal training session delivered by staff annually. For information on up-coming training opportunities, please visit the Volunteer website.
AdoptNaturalAreas_Training.pdf

      Adopt-a-Natural Area: Documents, Forms & Maps
Park-specific information, maps, and datasheets can be accessed via the ‘Forms & Maps’ link on the left.

Contact List

PRIMARY CONTACT SECONDARY CONTACT  TIMESHEETS/REWARDS 
Natural Resources Technician  Natural Resources Planner  Volunteer Coordinator
Erin Lavender  Brittany Bird  Rachel Boyd
Phone: 248.467.4453  Phone: 248.343.1353  Phone: 248.975.9717 
Email: lavendere@oakgov.com  Email: birdb@oakgov.com  Email: boydr@oakgov.com
Fax: 248.858.4635  Fax: 248.858.4635   Fax: 248.858.4635 

In the event that Erin & Brittany are not available to answer your question/respond to
immediate needs please contact the assigned Park Supervisor for park-related incidents.

Park

Park Supervisor 

Park

Park Supervisor

 Addison Oaks
Groveland Oaks
Highland Oaks
Rose Oaks

Boyd Brokenshaw
810.459.0732
brokenshawnb@oakgov.com

Independence Oaks
Orion Oaks

Mike Boyd
248.467.6308
boydm@oakgov.com

Lyon Oaks

John Chasteen
248.431.1329
chasteenj@oakgov.com

Waterford Oaks

Katie Pardy
248.343.0027
pardyk@oakgov.com

White Lake Oaks

Joe Campion
248.431.2198
campionj@oakgov.com

Springfield Oaks

Steve Whaley
248.486.4752
whaleys@oakgov.com

Emergencies Contact: 911

Know Park & Location


RSS